Chinese-Forums

I want to study mandarin in nanjing.

cjake22

I am a college student from the united states and I want to take a gap year and study Chinese. I am having trouble finding the best school for me. I would like to come over during the summer on a tourist visa look at some schools and find the best one for me. Once I am over in Nanjing could I change my tourist visa to a student visa and is this a good plan, or should I find a school before I come over?

Do you want to study at a University on a language program OR are you looking for a private school?

If it's a language program at a University then they have application deadlines for each semester. If you waited until you arrived at the place, had a look around, got a feel for it... then you might end up missing the deadline. The deadline might have passed long ago by that time.

If you are going for a private school then you could join anytime I guess.

I would pick a place before you go, from the USA, then plan to stay there 3-6 months. This could be a whole semester of a Uni program or just on your own steam at a language school. If you go searching for a place, you may have unrealistic expectations, you may never find a place that you feel is perfect for you. However, a lot of places in China take a bit of time to get used to and to appreciate. You can experience a lot of culture shock when you first arrive which, if you have no ties, might make you just give up.

After the first semester, first 6 months, you can choose to stay on at that place if you like it or try somewhere else.