Chinese-Forums

Renting in Kunming - 2015

chinabro

Hi all,
I'll be moving to Kunming in about mid-July and am trying to get an idea of how I should approach finding a place to rent and what prices I should expect. I checked the forums but there's a lot of information from a few years ago so not sure how relevant it is now.

I'll be at Yunnan University. Since I'm an undergrad, I assume it's going to be at the Chenggong Campus.

Preferably I'd like to find a single apartment - One bed, private toilet, access to broadband. 15 mins walk to campus
Ability to cook and air-conditioning would be a bonus but not totally necessary.

I'd also be willing to have housemates if it means I get my own private room. But I'd rather not share a bathroom/shower etc.

I had a look at GoKunming, although since it's targeted at foreigners it does seem a bit pricey and the locations are all over Kunming. Ranges from 1200 - 2100

I'd hope to spend something like 1100 a month for single room, private bathroom and close to uni. Not sure how feasible this is.

Does anyone know any good Chinese websites to use for searching for rental properties?
If I can't find one online, I'm willing to stay in a hostel etc until I find a place with an agency. But there's always the fear I'll get foreigner fees, so I'd like to be prepared.

Thanks for any information you guys can give me

• Like 1

If I can't find one online, I'm willing to stay in a hostel etc until I find a place with an agency. But there's always the fear I'll get foreigner fees, so I'd like to be prepared.

Do it this way. Forget about finding a place on-line. And you will pay foreigner prices. No way around that.

Preferably I'd like to find a single apartment - One bed, private toilet, access to broadband. 15 mins walk to campus

Ability to cook and air-conditioning would be a bonus but not totally necessary.

Air conditioning isn't needed (and isn't available) in Kunming. You can tell real estate agents you are looking for a 单人房。