Chinese-Forums

Textbooks for reading

Guest phipongkhang

Hello everyone!

Would you be so kind as to recommend me textbooks which put emphasis predominantly on reading texts and detailed grammar explanations.

You see, I'm not interested in dialogues, in training of speaking skills, learning of vernacular language, etc. I just want to read books on my subjects (religion studies, anthropology, etc.) in Chinese, not to talk about my grandparents.

p.s.: I have been studying Thai language for 3 years, so I will not have so many problems with phonetics (with tones, in particular), it's another issue.

Hey there,

My textbook does comprehension and grammar very well.  It's called Developing Chinese: Comprehension and has 6 levels.  Here's a link to the amazon for Elementary (1)

http://www.amazon.com/Developing-Chinese-Elementary-Comprehensive-Course/dp/7561930763/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1444277928&sr=8-1&keywords=developing+chinese+elementary+comprehensive+course+1

The style is like this:  There are 15 chapters.  Each one starts off with 35-50 new vocabulary words, then a long text which uses all of them.  There are comprehension check questions as you go along.  The rest of the chapter focuses on grammar prevalent in the text, how to use it and what it means.

If you live in China, I've seen it cheaper in most bookstores in Shanghai.

• 1 month later...

I have precisely the answer that you are looking for!