Chinese-Forums

What are your experiences with fitting in with international Chinese students at your university? (outside of China)

丹尼尓

This post is about American - international Chinese assimilation in the U.S.

My school has a really large number of Chinese international students.  I could write on and on and on about my experience with them, but to keep it short, it was very difficult fitting in with them.  

As for my Chinese level, I don't consider myself native-level fluent, but I'm still pretty advanced.  I've never been outside the U.S. before, but I've been studying it for a few years, and my level is still higher than some of my peers who have lived and studied in China.  Nonetheless, there's still a major language barrier present.  On top of that, I rarely see any Chinese and American interact with each other, it's very segregated here.  The end result is me looking like a stupid laowai trying to fit in.  It's extremely frustrating because I work hard on my Chinese to the point that it's an obsession, yet I can't make any meaningful connections with the Chinese students at my university.

And so, I was curious if other people like me are in a similar situation.  I thought, is it me, are all Chinese like this, is it the school, is it the studying abroad, etc. etc.  Share your experiences below! (whether it's in the states or not!)

Chinese students where I am from (Miami) tend to keep to themselves, they hang out together, eat at Chinese restaurants, and pretty much create a mini China bubble around themselves. Based on my limited experience with Chinese students in other places, that seems to hold true.

I think that, unfortunately, the only way to properly break into that group would he to date a Chinese girl or guy.

You can try to make friends with some, but I feel that if you are not some chinese student's plus one, you would not be invited to any events.

@丹尼尔