Chinese-Forums

advice on best two-week courses in Taiwan?

markpete

Hi, all.  I'm looking for a good intensive Mandarin language study program in Taiwan.  Any recommendations / reviews?  

Requirements:  I'm looking for a place that offers small group classes, probably about four hours a day (or "intensive", whatever that would mean for a particular school), and that would allow me to take classes for a short period of time.  I'll only be in-country for two weeks.  Anything in Taipai, Hualien, or Kaohsiung would work.  I'm much more interested in conversational skills than being able to write characters (and I can't write many).  Budget is not a huge consideration.

Level:  I'm self-taught so far, but probably at an intermediate level.  That is, I can have a lunchtime conversation with a native speaker, but with some difficulty.  I've gone through all of the Pimsleur courses, John DeFrancis's Beginning Chinese Reader, and this textbook (http://amzn.to/1U7FGZh).  I can read these Level 2 books (http://www.chinesebreeze.net/) without too much trouble.  My listening skills are lacking, though.  

Thanks for any suggestions!  If I can make the trip happen, I'll write up a review afterwards.

Mark

You can try the Taipei Language Institute. I don't have first-hand experience myself, but it does have a good reputation.

http://www.tli.com.tw/en/about/tli_brand_story.aspx

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taipei_Language_Institute

The Taipei Language Institute (TLI; Chinese: 中華語文研習所; pinyin: zhōnghuá yǔwén yánxí suǒ) was founded in 1956 by a group of missionaries who wished to provide training in Mandarin Chinese for Taiwan-bound missionaries. Originally named Missionary Language Institute, its founders created the institute as a means of educating these foreigners in Mandarin and Taiwanese.[1]

Also take a look at this thread. The poster spent four months studying in Taipei.

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/43939-independent-chinese-study-review/