Chinese-Forums

Getting Rid of American Accent

cal2u

Hi everyone!

I've been learning Chinese for about three years. I took two years of class online in high school, and I started taking Chinese again last Spring at my university. The past six weeks I had the opportunity to go to Chengdu for a brief language program and I really enjoyed it there, but it highlighted the fact that I really hate sounding like a foreigner when I speak Chinese. 

While I was there, my Chinese teacher put me in contact with a graduate student studying broadcasting, and for the first time I had someone really sit down with me and work on my pronunciation with a phonetics textbook. She was fantastic, but I didn't have a lot of time to work with her.

When I listen to recordings of myself, I sound glaringly American, but I'm not sure how to correct myself. I make mistakes with tones sometimes, but I don't think that's my main problem. Do you guys have any recommendations? Do I just need to find someone else who can tutor me? It looked like there are some phonetics textbooks on Amazon.cn that I might try, but I'd appreciate any advice you guys could give.

Just for reference, I've attached a really short clip of me speaking a sentence I was practicing on Cerego and trying to make less American-sounding: 生命的价值是什么? shengming de jiazhi shi shenme? Again, any feedback, but especially critical feedback is really appreciated!

me.wav

Based on that brief clip alone, I don't hear anything that screams you're American.

Looking for a voice tutor, you need to find someone you can mimic and enjoy mimicing. Speaking together should have the quality of a harmonious duet. It's a question of matching voice quality -- characteristics such as pitch and range -- but also personality: your voice says a lot about you. If I hear anything distinctive in that clip, it's that your voice sounds a bit soft, and maybe that's the influence of a female tutor.

• Like 1