Chinese-Forums

a few questions/doubts regarding masters degree in China

Kambili

First and foremost, thank god for such a helpful forum! :) It helped me immensely when I was doing all the research and sorting out the formalities before starting my studies in China.

I am studying in this lovely Middle Kingdom, curently in the second of my two-year general scholar Chinese language course. Sometime ago I have decided to apply for a master course next year, and hence have a few questions:

1. Im planning to go into translation in the future, Chinese to English or to my mother tongue, and Im not sure whether it would be better to go for an English translation course, or Chinese language and culture/literature one...? The former probably would go into translation theory and different approaches to it, while just studying Chinese on graduate level would probably help improve my Chinese a thousandfold, as it isn't all that amazing for the time being (somewhere between HSK 5 and 6).

2.Is Nanjing University a good choice for studying masters in translation, or in Chinese language? I just happen to be in Nanjing for now, so it would be convenient. I saw also Fudan is offering translation (out of the prestigious unis), but Im not sure if the edge it has (if any) over Nanda would be worth the hassle moving to Shanghai...?

3. What are the chances of being awarded the CSC scholarship a second time? On the admission website of Beida (not that Im planning to apply there) it was mentioned, as one of the eligibility conditions, that the applicant should not have previously received any Chinese government funding. I went to the office of Nanjing University recently though, and such a requirement wasnt mentioned at all. Different universities having different guidelines? I would think it was a standarized system...

4. Any tips on how to make your masters university application more successful? ;)

thank you for any replies :)