Chinese-Forums

Dalian University of Technology

Thundercat8

I'm studying at DUT for a year starting in a few weeks! I was wondering if anybody else on here is either going there this year, has been there before, or knows anything about it. I am also staying with a local family, and am a little bit concerned that it's going to be very strict. I want to go out and have a good time, don't want a curfew at 9pm every night for example! (of course, if I did, I'd stick to it, don't want to insult my new family!)

谢谢啊!

I'm sure the classes will be fantastic at DUT, as it's quite an established course for teaching foreigners as far as I'm aware. I wanted to go somewhere a little more original than Beijing or Shanghai, and as I've already spent 6 months in Yunnan province, I decided Dalian was the place to be. I've never been before, so it's a little daunting that I've chosen somewhere to live for a year based on it's geographical location! Plus, I love being near the sea!!! (I live on an island...)

I've been told the classes are 8am - midday Monday - Friday, and that we can also learn other things in the afternoon. What kind of other courses can we do? Although I'd be rubbish at it, I would like to learn calligraphy. It's so beautiful!

What is Dalian like in terms of number of foreigners? I want to fully immerse myself in Chinese culture, and hope I don't get caught up in a maelstrom of ex-pats. Surely I can resist the urge, I just wondered what it was like in Dalian.

Does anyone know how we pay the tuition fees? In the email, it says I need to pay 13000Y or something like that, which is around £1000. Quite a lot to be carrying around in cash on my first day! Do I have to pay on the first day in cash, or do they accept cheques or cards?

Anyway, I really can't wait to go (under 2 weeks!) and as I'm not going with any classmates, I would love to get to know some people before i get there. Please feel free to send me a message and we can talk on MSN or something.