Chinese-Forums

All about Qingdao? The Good, Bad Ugly.

chanman207

Hi,

I'm a 22yr old student, Chinese-American from Maine,USA. I'm going to be studying in Qingdao for the summer months of 2009 late-May to late-August. I've been to Taiwan in 2004 (Loveboat program), Beida (Nanhai program). I really want to experience a 2nd tier city. However, I have no idea what to think about Qingdao besides websites, I would really love to hear from people that have personally been to Qingdao or are currently living there. It would be much appreciated!

I plan on studying at Qingdao University of Chinese, I'm choosing QU stictly based on location, closer to the city.

Also, I don't plan on applying to QU through third-party programs. They over-charge like crazy fees!! But would it be harder to meet people because I'm going at in alone and not through a program? I just don't want to be lonely for 3 months.

Ok well anyways, please leave me any information that help thank you so much in advance. :help

You might want to consider Qingdao Ocean University or Qingdao University. Both are major universities in Qingdao. The school you mentioned seems like a special school for teaching Chinese to foreigners. There you might not have much contact with local students, and you might be around too many English speakers.

See here:

http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/26-traditional-vs-simplified-characters208

Learning chinese in Qingdao

http://www.chinese-forums.com/showthread.php?p=81023#post81023

I go to Qingdao too

http://www.chinese-forums.com/showthread.php?p=85311#post85311

Dalian or Qingdao?

Hey,