Chinese-Forums

BNU Bachelors in 汉语言

cliveloughlin

Hi guys

As some of you know I'm currently on the BA programme (sorry, i'm british!) at BNU. A few people have asked how things are going so i'm back (Finally) with a very messy, brief update!

Some of you will know that BNU puts students into one of 9 classes based on your performance on the entrance test when you first come to the school to register. These levels are as follows: 100 (complete beginners), 101, 102, 201, 202, 301, 302, 401 and 402(time to graduate).

The first class is really for absolute beginners who have had no prior experience of learning Chinese. They start from the basics of how to write characters (stroke order etc.) and I think they also learn pinyin. I started in 101 (having worked in China for a few months before starting on the course) so i'm not 100% sure what exactly goes on in the classes but i know that they have 3 modules: speaking, listening and reading/writing.

My first semester (101) included speaking, listening and reading/writing. They expected quite a lot in terms of characters (which was scary for me as i couldn't even read/write “一,二,三,四 etc” when i joined but i got the hang of things quickly enough. Although i don't pay attention to stroke order (or capitalisation in english) the characters that i write are legible...thats the main thing. Class contents: everything comes from the textbooks; mainly focused on food, transport and festivals. Not uninteresting but i think the teachers could factor in some other methods/topics. Overall: good quality of teaching. Exams not difficult at all, although the speaking tests place a lot of emphasis on tones at this level. Plenty of focus on grammar, sentence patterns in all of the classes (useful stuff)