Chinese-Forums

Visa Problems After Teaching For 5 Years?

yingguoguy

I've been teaching English in China now for nearly 5 years, and have just agreed to stay with my current college for another year. Our Waiban has apparently been told that there may be "problems" getting a working visa (or possibly Foreign Expert Certificate) for someone who has already been in China for 5 years. It's suggested that I would have to go back home for 2 years before returning. I've been looking around the internet and this site and can't find any reference to these rules, and I'm sure there are a more than a few people on this site who have been in China long term. Our Waiban is going to clarify matters in the next few days but does anybody know anything about this?

Have a look at this, article 19 - it dates from 1996, not sure if there's anything more up to date. The idea is that if you want to be a foreign expert, you need to maintain your foreignness and expertize overseas. I'd imagine the 一般 means it's not too hard to get around if the local foreign experts folk don't want to get in your way.

This seems very weird. I have known English teachers and other foreign experts that have been in China 6 , 7 , even 10 years without going back.

Sometimes getting a competing contract offer from another university will "encourage" your university to deal with the paper work. (Another issue might be that the university wants to switch you out but doesn't have any legitimate reason to do this so looks for some weird clause in the contract.) I had a job that they didn't want me to resign because my contract had a clause of getting a 10% raise each year which they didn't really want to pay.

Most things in China are negotiated or figured out indirectly with help from a second source. Good luck.

Sincerely,

Simon:)

I've been teaching here for 15 years and have renewed my residence permit and foreign expert certificate each year with no problems.