Chinese-Forums

Trouble Remembering Tones, How To Overcome?!?

hongputaojiu

Hi everyone

I'm in my 4th semester of chinese at university. I have previously lived in China for a couple of years, although I'm not there at the moment. My teachers/tutors tell me that my pronunciation is pretty good, but when it comes time to write the correct tone on pinyin in class and exams I often get it wrong.

It seems weird that I can use the characters at least at my level of upper elementary/low intermediate in speaking situations, but not remember them when thinking about how they sound in my head, or hearing myself aloud. Am I tone deaf?!?

Any suggestions on how to overcome this?

thanks 红葡萄酒

How about asking a native which percentage of tones you get right. That should give you a good indication of your tone understanding. Pronounciation is one thing and tones is another. Maybe your teachers mean you pronounce well but dont get the tones quite right.

I think in the end it just comes down to memorising, by rote if necessary. If you have much opportunity to speak in Chinese, obviously that will help, as you will be able to consolidate it in your mind. But unfortunately I don't think there are any shortcuts to remembering the tones.

I am not sure whether this will make any sense, anyway...

during ear training (for music), at first you can't distinguish the various intervals, even though you can reproduce them (sing back the melody). It requires training to be able to recognize that this interval is a 2nd and that interval is a 5th.

At first you have to sing the intervals out loud and continue with a song you know that starts with that interval (a classical example for French music students is that, if after singing the interval you can continue with the tune of the national anthem, then you know it's a rising 4th).

Later, you learn to "sing" silently (in your head) and recognize the "song you know" silently.