Chinese-Forums

USD instability; RMB investment?

cui ruide

I'm not very good with economics and certainly do not follow economic issues as closely as I should, so I was hoping someone with a better understanding could address a concern of mine.

I was reading a recent post by Richard on The Peking Duck (here, firewall-hopper needed), which touches on the latest economic policy decision of Ben Bernanke to print some money and risk some inflation. Richard in the post advises buying gold and maybe silver to ward off loss.

What I'm curious about is the path of the RMB. If the USD inflates, is it safe to assume the RMB will appreciate? Or could should we expect the RMB either by natural means or manipulation to roughly follow a course matched to the USD?

That is, should I keep my RMB paycheck in RMB or buy gold? :P

The current inflation rate in the US is at 1% and will likely stay that way for years to come. With the unemployment rate at 10% and 3 million new mortgage foreclosures this year, there's very little chance of high inflation in the near term. The real danger is continued high employment and deflation, which the Fed is trying to combat, unfortunately without the help of Congress.

The US dollar has been steadily rising against most major currencies, except the Japanese Yen. See this chart here: http://www.google.com/finance?q=USDEUR

The price of gold has tripled in the 3-4 years. It's a bubble and probably will burst in due time.

http://www.usagold.com/gold-price.html

Short and Long-term Historic Gold Price Charts

• Like 2

A few things to consider: