Chinese-Forums

Private Tutoring

Glycerine0160

I assume this topic has been mulled over a million times.

I'm American, and I have my Bachelor's degree in political science (Jan 11) and I have studied 3 years of Mandarin Chinese.

I have been wary of entering contracts because I am in the midst of applying for some international jobs and I have a definite date of May 2012 for

Peace Corps if I choose. Not to mention, contracts seem like they can cause legal headaches for some.

The reason I want to private tutor is that it's very flexible. My main reason for going to China would be to learn about the culture and improve my language skills. In earnest, I just need to make enough money to defer my cost of living.

First Question: Is there anyway of getting around private tutoring being illegal according to visa protocols? Could I obtain a work or Z visa?

(I'd be very wary of risking years of imprisonment for something like this, I'm more conservative when it comes to risk assessment.

Second Question:

Any general thoughts on how to get started? Shanghai would be ideal for me, especially because I really want to seek out a good martial art establishment for Wing Chun,and Shanghai is the most prevalent place to find it. I also assume it would be easier finding clientele who would want private tutoring in the city.

So please, any advice would be great.

-Ryan

Is there anyway of getting around private tutoring being illegal according to visa protocols? Could I obtain a work or Z visa?

No, you need to be sponsored to get a Z visa. From the Chinese embassy's website: "The original and a photocopy of the Work Permit for Aliens issued by Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security or the original Foreign Expert's License issued by the Chinese Foreign Expert Bureau." And, generally for a company to sponsor you, of course they'll want a contract.