Chinese-Forums

Anything you think you'd like to ask a native speaker

Vivi MENG

Hi, everyone. 

Using the popular Chinese net language , the name of this thread should be 我从小说普通话,大家有什么想问的? :P

I'm an international student in the UK. I was born in Northern China and got my bachelor degree in Shanghai. It's a pity that I can not speak any dialect. But the good news is that my pronunciation and way of using Mandarin is thus not influenced by dialects.

I'm not an expert in Chinese or Chinese teaching or Chinese language or anything. But I've used this language for more than 20 years. And I'd love to help you with Chinese learning as a language user. My answer may not be as accurate as books, but I will try my best. 

ANYTHING about Chinese language or Chinese culture or China you think you'd like to ask or double check, just leave a message here. I'll see what I and my friends can do.

Have a good day!

• Like 4

Hi Vivi Meng,

That's a very kind offer, thank you! I do have a question, haha.  It's about the Chinese culture, or jokes rather.  Many 'intro to China' guides state that foreigners will not understand Chinese humour.  But every time I hangout with my Chinese friends, we all laugh at the same things. Can you please share a joke that you and other native Chinese speakers think is absolutely hilarious, but one that foreigners do not get at all?

Thanks! :D

Can you please share a joke that you and other native Chinese speakers think is absolutely hilarious, but one that foreigners do not get at all?

Wow, this's a tricky one. Do you expected a joke in Chinese or in English? It will be much easier to find one in Chinese than in English. :P

Hotmann: Can you recommend any books whose language most closely resembles 21st century spoken language?