Chinese-Forums

The best use of audio to improve listening comprehension?

ihoop

• New Members

Hey all,

I have recently come to the conclusion that I want to seriously improve my listening comprehension.  I have been studying Chinese for close to two years now, and the thing that discourages me the most is listening to the news in Chinese.  Even after two years of pretty regular study I find that sometimes the news is almost incomprehensible to me and it is discouraging.

Of course, I realize that this is just another plateau in my Chinese learning and that I have already come a long way.  I think it is important to remind yourself of these things too.  I have friends that only speak Chinese, my girlfriend and I never speak English and have conversations about all sorts of things, talking with locals is never a problem, etc. At this point, I can say that I do "speak"  Chinese, but I want to have the same facility in Chinese that I do in my native language.  I want to be able to turn on the TV or radio and somewhat flawlessly understand what is going on.

Anyway, I am thinking that there are two ways I can go about this.  The first would be taking small segments of the news and breaking them up into sentences and putting these sentences into anki.  After doing this, I would listen to these sentences over and over until I understood them.

The second method would be more of a sort of "extensive" listening practice.  I would download and listen to a bunch of news every day.  If I heard something I did not understand I would look it up in the dictionary, but after that I would just keep listening.  I would not make a conscience effort to review every little thing that I did not understand (by putting sentences into anki) but would hope that over time natural vocabulary acquisition would take place.