Chinese-Forums

Chinese breeze books

ianwat

Hi,

I have just ordered a chinese breeze book level 1, is it simplified chinese & would these flashcards on amazon

(Chinese Flash Cards Kit Volume 1: Characters 1-349: Hsk Elementary Level)

cover the characters in the book, also without sounding daft as a complete beginner thats just starting to learn do you read these books the english way left to right & from the front the book.

Thanks

Hi Welcome to the forum!

The Chinese Breeze books are in simplified chinese. They say in the book that level 1 you need approximately 300 characters to read. It's pretty simple. I wouldn't bother ordering flashcards in this day and age though. You would be better off using pleco or skritter or anki and importing characters that you come across/find important. You can also add the HSK lists for free. Though Skritter is a paid service. Pleco has free flashcards but if you want special extras I'd recommend buying the bundle packs. I don't personally like Anki but lots of people use it and seem to like it so I thought i'd mention it

And yes, you read it like a normal book. They number the chapters and pages too.

If you're an absolute beginner you won't find the books much use. You need to recognize sentence structures. The language is a bit simplified to match the 300-character limit, but that doesn't make it perfectly easy to understand. They are really useful after a year or two to get practice in actually reading Chinese text rather than just textbook sentences.

The text reads from left to right just like English.

• Like 2