Chinese-Forums

Advice needed to go beyond intermediate level

spetsnaz84

Hi,

Let me first introduce myself: I am a 30 year old male living in Western Europe. Almost three years ago, I married my Chinese wife and we have been living together happily. From the moment we got married I started studying Chinese with some ups and downs. I took an evening course here and there and some private tutoring but I was never happy with the former as I had already progressed beyond the highest level they offered and the latter option was getting too expensive.

I recently passed HSK-4 but I still find my level of Chinese to have significant shortcomings. Especially when having a face-to-face conversation with my inlaws, communication is poor. Online typed communication over QQ is smoother (not in the least because I can easily resort to a dictionary when needed).

In the past I did a lots of memrise, but I never liked the changes in 1.0 after the beta release. I have also been using fluentu recently which is definitely nice (I like the multimedia integration a lot) but they still don't have a mobile app unfortunately.

Regarding reading, I have read most of the Chinese breeze novels. It has given me a big sense of accomplishment to see how in the beginning I could barely read the level 1 books and now I am waiting impatiently for some level 4 books to be published (will this happen ?). I try to listen to the audio in the car but it's simply not easy to divide your attention between the traffic and the Chinese - it latter requires my full focus to understand it, the former my full focus not to have an accident :)

Probably you will point out my wife should help me with this and sometimes we do converse in Chinese but my wife is currently pre-occupied with her job and learning my language (I try to impose a 'no English' rule at home with varied success so far)