Chinese-Forums

Chinese is easy

geraldc

Considering the fact that there's no genetic connection & a relatively short history of contact between the two, English & Chinese are remarkably similar in spirit. Since what little grammatical inflection English still posesses is dying out(for instance, in US Eng. as spoken by those under 40 neither the "there is"/"there are" distinction nor the one between "actor" & "actress" seem to exist anymore) it looks as if they'll only be getting increasingly similar in the future.

• Like 1

Waiting for geraldc above all, but may I give my two cents now?

I studied French in my teens, Russian in my thirties and Mandarin in my fifties. I thought Mandarin was easier than Russian, and Russian easier than French. I'm comparing them up to the minimally-useable level that I reached in all three.

Fascination with the writing system and a strong reading/writing orientation led me to an unwise approach to Mandarin. If I had chosen simple daily-usage materials and then really used them every day it would have been easier.

With the right approach to language any language can be considered easy.

I find Mandarin is incredibly practical to speak. It has very straight-forward and logical grammar, so you don't need to spend as much time trying to find the correct grammar structures to say something in past tense or as a relative clause etc.

The reading and writing system can also become really easy if you know how to tackle them. If you properly learn the radicals then you see that pretty much every single character can be broken up into less than three radicals. Then you just have to remember the radicals to write them.

I think people are just frightened by either the characters or tones (which beginners often neglect) or because it's not like English enough (compared to Spanish etc.)

• Like 1

"I had an epiphany today. Chinese is super easy to learn. People say it's hard, it's not."