Chinese-Forums

Should I learn how to write? Returning from a Chinese hiatus

Pandarollroll

Back in 2008, when I first started learning Mandarin, I solely focused on reading, speaking, and listening. I completely neglected writing after a few Chinese people told me that I would only ever need to type and learning how to write the characters wouldn't be something that I would need to know how to do. Reading was always my strongest area and even though I couldn't write more than a few basic sentences, I could still gather the meaning of newspaper articles and what not.

It has now been about 4 years since I have seriously dedicated time to studying Chinese and I'm wondering if I should learn how to write this time around? After I graduate in the summer of 2015, I'm planning on working in China or Taiwan for 1+ year(s) and I'm just wondering what should be my course of action at this point?

I'm no expert on methodology, but I've definitely had gaps in between my studying of Chinese and character writing (production) always is one of the first to go. What I do is good old fashion pen and ink during study time! When you scan a text for new words, write them in a notebook (some of our younger readers may not know that word, notebooks are what was replaced by iPads and smartphones)  :wink:  Also, if you are a flashcard user, there are tools in Pleco to write out characters on the screen before you reveal the answer. That can be helpful as well. The important thing is to find ways to integrate it into your studying and then it should be at hand after you are in China/Taiwan when ever the need to write the old fashion way comes up. Good luck!

Also, you can try 书法 but it is less practical writing techniques and more artistic practice. But every little bit of writing time helps... and it will help solidify the stroke order. (Also a way to see stroke order in Pleco.)

• Like 1