Chinese-Forums

Leaving Dalian and the Chinese education system

Tomas Tomas

Hi,

Wanted to introduce myself a bit and my journey from starting Chinese through my decision to leave Dalian.

I am a 32 year old lawyer who left work in Singapore to study Chinese.  My current goal is to pass the HSK6 in the spring of 2015.  My studying Chinese process has gone like this:

Nov. 2012-June 2013:  

I studied and finished James Heisig's "Remembering the Hanzi" books, starting while I was at work, and I study/review with Anki (forwards and backwards).  So right now I have those two book's hanzi + about 180 other ones in a "Heisig" deck.

June-Aug 2013:  

I got the Kathryn Davis Fellowship to study Chinese at Middlebury College, where I completed their 一年级 course... was a great experience.  The Language Pledge, etc.  Starting from June 2013, I put all vocab into Anki in a separate deck for review and have kept up with that.

Sept 2013 -- Present:  I got the China Government Scholarship to study at Dalian University of Technology.  I've kept the "Language Pledge" here and don't speak English at all.  They have 7 levels.  I was initially put in their Level 3 in the fall of 2013, and studied Level 4 at the same time.  I tested out of Level 4 and was in Level 5 in the spring of 2014.  Now I'm in Level 6.

Current situation:

I plan to study all the grammar from Level 7 with my one-one-one tutor this semester, and just leave Dalian in January at winter break.

I'm not particularly happy with this school, and now I can use a Chinese-Chinese dictionary.  I feel like classes with 10-15 people aren't very useful anymore.

I have been doing Anki this whole way through... current stats are:  3,180 Heisig characters, 2,400 full knowledge characters, about 6,000 words and phrases.  By spring I should hit 3,150 full knowledge characters and 8,000 words/phrases.