Chinese-Forums

Invitation says English but my classes are in Chinese

goddess_hina

Hello, 

I am studying for a Master's at Tongji Medical College located in Wuhan, China. I was sent an invitation letter to study at this campus and on the paper it says I was to be taught in English but I am being taught in Chinese. I have went to the administration about the language barrier but nothing has been done. I talked to my professors(through a translator) about how I can not understand the lesson and that I am supposed to be taught in English. The ones that can understand and speak English have refused to do so during class. I assume something can be done about this. Short of switching schools(I heard its really hard to do that) I am wondering what steps do I take next? Do I alert the consulate/embassy about this or am I to just to suck it up?

Was the course advertised in English from the beginning? How did you find out about it? Is it a course designed for foreign students?

The only courses I know about round here that are taught in English are ones targetting foreign students only. For example, Tsinghua does an International Relations masters in English.

If the school refuses to teach you in English and you don't speak Chinese at all or to a high enough standard, then I don't see you have any choice but to switch schools. Alternatively, take a break for a while and apply to a different University or country.

I'm not sure why you "assume" you can force professors or a school to do anything. Even if you could, it probably wouldn't help you in the long run anyway as your relationship with them would not be so good. Even if they agreed to speak in English, i doubt any of the material would be in English.

This all sounds like some "wires" have been crossed somewhere.

• Like 1

Sorry, I haven't got any practical suggestions for you, but this scenario seems to not be uncommon.