Chinese-Forums

Chongqing or Taibei?

Juliette (法珠雷)

Hi everyone,

I am to spend a semester (university exchange) in a Chinese university next year (third year of Chinese language degree), and have to choose between Chongqing and Taibei (HK is also on the list but as I am studying mandarin Chinese it might be slightly irrelevant). Which city do you think would be best ? I only have ever been to northern China, so I am fairly unfamiliar with both.

Thanks for your help.

Do you eat spicy food? If yes, then Chongqing. If no, then Taipei.  :P

But all joking aside, what do you want from your exchange experience? What aspects of a city are most important to you? Do you value a clean environment and unhindered access to the internet? Then Taipei might fit you better. Are you going to be doing business on the mainland and want to cultivate contacts there? Then Chongqing might be best. Both are great cities, can you tell us a bit more? I bet some knowledgeable folks here on the website can make recommendations.

Good luck!

• Like 1

First, thanks for your reply.

As I said my major is mandarin Chinese, therefore my main focus is language and culture. I have already been to Mainland China so I am aware of the small hindrances you mentioned, but don't really mind any of them.

Moreover, and I can't really explain why, I am more "fond of" the Mainland, but seeing as I've never been to Taiwan I'm trying to keep an open mind, hence my inquiry.

I recommend Taipei. I have spent virtually no time in Chongqing, but from what I know, the environment (in the broadest sense of the word) is not that great. It's famous for having very bad weather and pretty serious smog. Which university would you be studying at, and how good is that university? Others might have more information there, but I don't know of any well-known university in Chongqing, or how good its program for foreigners would be. 四川大学 is probably good, but that's in Chengdu.