Chinese-Forums

Moving Family to China

Guangxi Shane

Hi Everyone,

My wife, 6 year old daughter and I are planning to move to China sometime in the next couple of years, and we're looking for advice on where to live, cost of living, visa strategies, options for our daughter's and our own education while in China, etc...

Our goals are to spend a year somewhere in China, possibly longer, studying Chinese language and learning about Chinese culture. We're all complete beginners at Chinese. We've purchased a textbook and ordered Pimsleur tapes from our library to begin our study of the language at home before we leave for China. In addition to learning the language, my wife would like to learn Chinese cooking and Tai Chi, and I might be interested in studying some sort of martial arts as well, if lessons were available. My wife and I aren't planning on working at jobs, although if the opportunity presented itself, we wouldn't mind helping out and earning some extra cash doing informal English tutoring on the side. We both have college degrees: I've got a B.A. in Communications and my wife has a B.A. in English Literature and an M.A. in Creative Writing, and both of us have experience, albeit dated, at teaching ESL and learning foreign languages in Europe and Japan.