Chinese-Forums

wanting to study in kunming for the summer

cjake22

Hello I am a complete noob on this website, but I have been reading the forums on here and it seems like a great place to find information. For as long as I can remember I have been fascinated with Asia and China. I am a college student at a community college in the united states, I have had a rough time with school. Not because of academics, but life events. I have always wanted to travel and learn Chinese. I have decided to take a gap year, and finally travel and learn Putonghua. I have been doing tons of research, and been on reddit asking for information. Someone told me Yunnan and Sichuan province were both good places to study during the summer. I am interested in going to cunning this summer and, then going to a university in the east in September. I have a few questions. Is Kunming still a cheap place to live, and how much money should I save up? Are there any good private schools that are affordable.Can I get a tourist visa for three months, and switch it to a student visa. Will I have to go home and come back to china? I read online that you can work on a student visa with the universities permission. Is this true? I am also thinking about getting a college degree In Chinese and I want to know if any one else is doing this? Sorry about the wall of text. I have many questions and this seems like a good place to start.

Someone told me Yunnan and Sichuan province were both good places to study during the summer. I am interested in going to cunning this summer and, then going to a university in the east in September. I have a few questions. Is Kunming still a cheap place to live, and how much money should I save up? Are there any good private schools that are affordable.Can I get a tourist visa for three months, and switch it to a student visa. Will I have to go home and come back to china?