Chinese-Forums

Learning mandarin from cantonese

Flickserve

Roddy gave me a few suggestions on topics that I could wrote about.

This one I can do quite succinctly.

My background is London english accent but I was exposed to an eclectic mix of accents when growing up - Mancunian, Yorkshire and Malaysian English.

I came to HK knowing hardly any cantonese but with some imprinting in my brain waves from around 1 to 4 years old after which age my family spoke solely in English as it was the fastest means of communication. I did do a bit of mandarin school in my teenage years. But being a lazy and disinterested teenager more intent on sports, it was not interesting learning about birds, cows, fields as were the textbooks of the day. Strangely enough, I did come away being to do stroke order of characters and an idea of saying the tones.

Learning cantonese was tough in HK. Because I look the part, everybody would assume I could understand the conversation (which was wrong assumption no.1). Second wrong assumption was that HKers thought language was picked up by a process of diffusion. They advised me to watch the local HK soap operas but I can't even stand ones in english - I didn't do Neighbours (even though bombshell Kylie was in it), Eastenders, Coronation Stret...etc.

I eventually took cantonese lessons which helped tremendously but never really worked at it after that. I would say I can get by in ordinary conversations knowing about 80% of what's said. But my accent is far better than a westerner trying to learn cantonese. I never really worked properly at the tones but sometimes it sounds natural and sometimes its off.

So now, I try mandarin after a very long break. It's been an interesting experience and a challenge. I don't remember tones being so difficult before. My third tone frequently sounds like a second tone but it's quickly corrected if I am following the instructor.