Chinese-Forums

mental health and general health in China

Coffe4Me

• New Members

Hello Everyone,

I am considering applying for work in China. I am 54 years old, male, in good physical condition. I have a master's in TEFL and have been teaching for close to 25 years.

I have been taking anti-depressants since 1997, as well as medication for hypothyroidism. The latter requires a visit to an endocrinologist every 3-4 months for blood tests and a prescription of a synthetic thyroid hormone T4. I am more concerned about the former condition since I am interested in teaching in the rural areas where the pollution is not so bad. Any feedback would be appreciated.

Coffe4Me

If I were you I would be looking into relatively well-developed cities in China that have good air quality. That is the only way you'll be able to meet your medical requirements, while avoiding pollution.

Some cities in China that have good air quality are:

Kunming

Haikou

Xiamen

Chengdu

Nanchang

Guiyang

Taipei

That being said, you would still need to do some research on the ground before you make the decision to move there considering your condition. You would need to find out if there are any hospitals which have endocrinology departments and can conduct the tests you require. As for the medication, I imagine you'd be able to buy in bulk before you move, should it be unavailable in China. Good luck!

• Like 1

You need to consider how stable you are with regards to these underlying conditions. Hypothyroidism relatively straightforward. You provide fewer details on why you take antidepressants and whether the underlying condition is stable or not.

Medicines in China have different packaging and perhaps a different formulation or from a different company. So your particular antidepressant may or may not be easily obtainable in China.

I am more concerned about the former condition since I am interested in teaching in the rural areas where the pollution is not so bad.