Chinese-Forums

Finding a University in China that places more emphasis on communication

Simon D

Hi all,

I'm currently studying in Haikou, at Hainan University. I have been here for almost 3 months and I've quickly found that the teaching style and material is not suitable for me, so I'm thinking about alternatives for the future.

My reading and writing ability has improved greatly since arriving, but my speaking has seen little (to possibly no) improvement. The teachers are good and do seem keen to help, but my problem is with the way classes seem geared towards the end of term exams and HSK, with cramming lots of new vocabulary and grammar, without much time to truly learn how to use the newly learned things.

I understand this is largely my responsibility to work on this with self study and interacting with Chinese speakers, but as I'm in a classroom from 7.30am-11.30am 5 days a week, and working from home 12pm-7pm 5 days a week, I lack the time and more importantly the motivation to do this, especially with such dry textbooks that are padded with quite a lot of unnecessary vocab.

I found that I was improving at a faster pace and enjoying the learning journey more while self studying in the UK, which never felt like a chore.

I've been browsing through the individual university threads and have noticed the style of teaching in all the ones I viewed sound pretty familiar to my own experiences so this seems to be how China does it, but I was wondering if anyone knows an exception to the rule and knows of a university that places an emphasis on communication rather than passing exams.

If this is unheard of, then perhaps any recommendations for language schools in China, providing they can offer 6 month - 1 year student visas. I'm not ruling out any location if the teaching matches my preferences.

Many thanks!

Does it have to be a university? if not, then i can recommend BICC (beijing international chinese college) http://www.hibicc.com/