Chinese-Forums

Correlations between Jyutping (Cantonese) and Pinyin (Mandarin)

Aika

Hi,

Mandarin is basically Cantonese pronounced differently, but the grammar/structures are the same and some of the pronounciations sound extremely similar.

Is there a list out there, that shows the pinyin for the two dilects side-by-side? So that way, since I'm a really good cantonese speaker, I can just memorize the list of Mandarin pinyin that correlates to Cantonese pronouncations, so I can know both languages without learning each word individually like a new language.

For example:

Shì=sai3        

jiè=gaai3

Without a doubt, you would see the uncanny resemblance between them if you knew both languages.

I've been studying Mandarin for 3 years and I know I could do significantly better if I can translate Cantonese and Mandarin directly between each other, without using English as a buffer.

I see where you're coming from, yes I agree there is resemblance, but it doesn't always work. You picked an interesting example with shì as it corresponds to many characters with different Cantonese pronunciations.

世 sai3

逝 sai6

事 si6

市 si5

式 sik1

室 sat1

In the other direction, for sai3:

世 shì

細 xì

I'd say pronunciation in one will give you a hint of what the pronunciation is in the other, but it would be quite daunting to try to systematically remember them.

• Like 2

Without a doubt, you would see the uncanny resemblance between them if you knew both languages.

I've been studying Mandarin for 3 years and I know I could do significantly better if I can translate Cantonese and Mandarin directly between each other, without using English as a buffer.

After 3 years, I would have thought you had it worked out :)