Chinese-Forums

Fudan University accommodation - living with a partner.

bientai

Hi,

I am hoping to be admitted to Fudan's graduate level programme. Along that, I also hope to receive Chinese Government Scholarship class A which, among other perks, also offers free housing. I will be coming with a partner (not married yet) and I was wondering does Fudan have any options for couples and how does all that work out with the scholarship?

Thanks a bunch for your help!

Greets!

Hey there,

I'm currently a graduate student in Fudan University,

Unfortunately there's no way for you to live in the dorm with a partner whom are not a student here, guests are not even allowed to stay for overnight.

Even if she/he is an enrolled student its not allowed to live in a double room with someone from the opposite sex.

Your best chance is to look for an apartment near the campus.

Go to Zhejiang University instead! Everything is much more liberal here, your partner can live in the dorm. Since you are not married yet, you will have to register with the international students' office.

Unfortunately there's no way for you to live in the dorm with a partner whom are not a student here, guests are not even allowed to stay for overnight.

Even if she/he is an enrolled student its not allowed to live in a double room with someone from the opposite sex.

Kinda hilarious that such an elite university still treats its students like little kids.

Thanks for your replies, guys! I kind of came to a conclusion myself too that couples in a Fudan dorm seems to be a no-no. Suppose I were to get a CSC scholarship and I decided to rent a room in an apartment. How would the scholarship accommodation subsidy work. Could I use this subsidy to partially cover the rent?

Cheers!