Chinese-Forums

HSK Traditional

Thiago Brazil

Probably not.

Anyway you can find information about the HSK on the registration site:

http://www.chinesetest.cn

There you can find a list of test centers with coordinates, if you want you can make a phone call or send an email to a test center in your country to confirm.

And if you want to take an exam in traditional characters, there's the TOCFL too:

http://www.tw.org/tocfl/

• Like 1

I work as an HSK examiner, so I can answer that question:

No, you cannot.

The HSK is administered by Hanban, which is part of the Confucius Institute Headquarters (managed by the Chinese Ministry of Education) and therefore the official way of writing in the PRC is allowed (meaning simplified characters).

There is a language test by the Taiwanese government (not administered on the Chinese mainland) which I am not that familiar with, but I would assume there it is possible.

Very Thanks for all!

I very liked all answers. Here, in Brazil have a brach where have this test for Traditional. It's in São Paulo, in south of Brazil, but more distance my city.

But, please friends, what is the Text Book used for TOCFL? For example, The New Practical Chinese Reader is the Text Book for HSK. What is for TOCFL?

@thiago

I think there might be some confusion. The HSK is a standardized exam and exactly the same wherever you take it. So the test center in Sao Paulo (if it is a real HSK test center), will not be able to administer the test in traditional characters, just like any other test center in the world.

Also, the New Practical Reader is a popular text book for studying Chinese (with simplified characters), but it is not the official text book for the HSK, nor is it especially designed to prepare students for the HSK exam.