Chinese-Forums

Teaching math/science instead of English teaching?

blastsphere

I was working on an master's in STEM in the US but am thinking about dropping out since it looks like it will take another year. I have some questions about teaching math/science in China:

1. Are math/science teachers looked down by the locals? I heard English teachers are often stereotyped as "losers back home"
  2. With just a bachelor's and passing the substitute teaching test, am I restricted to just teaching kids? Or could I teach high school, college, or adults? Which offers the best salary and working conditions? Is there any advantage for having an master's in STEM as opposed to just a BS?
  3. I have 2 yrs experience as a TA in university. Is that relevant at all to teaching math/science in Asia? I've heard its possible to teach English in China without a teaching license. Is that true? Would passing a substitute teaching test in the US be helpful?
  4. Since I'm interested in other Asian countries, such as Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, and Malaysia, is getting a math/science job any different for those countries than China?

In Hong Kong, you would need a post graduate qualification in education to teach. I am unsure if it is totally mandatory but I think more have it than don't have it.

Let's put it this way, having formal teaching qualifications will make you look less likely of having taken the easy option out.

Are you looking at teaching in local schools or international schools?

If you're looking at international schools, I can help a bit. My wife teaches music and art at an international school in Tokyo, and did the same in Taipei before we moved here.