Chinese-Forums

A Few Grammar & Format Dillemas

AlexanderLivius

Finals have arrived!

One of the final assignments is to compose a brief letter in Chinese to the professor that describes the events of my summer.

So long as the grammar and word choice is plausible, you receive full credit.

I have tried my best to do so, but as a beginner, I have ran into a few dilemmas.

I would really appreciate it if any intermediate or advanced students out there could help me resolves these issues.

I am embarrassed to ask you all for help, but a poor grade would be even more embarrassing.

Here is the letter in all it's glory.

I have highlighted in red constructions/word choice I am unsure about.

(although I might have made mistakes I am unaware of.)

您好!

Greetings!

这个夏天又忙又有意思!

This summer was both busy and interesting.

我6月1日到洛杉矶去第一次见我女朋友妈妈和爸爸。她们在小西贡住。到以前,我又紧张又害怕。可是认识她们以后,我放心了。虽然我女朋友妈妈和爸爸都只说越南文,但是我跟他们开心了。我们不但去了面包店喝波霸奶茶,而且在家唱卡拉。我觉得小西贡很好玩儿。我在她们家住了一个月半. 我希望寒假回去。

On June 1st I went to Los Angeles to meet my girlfriend's mother and father for the first time, they live in Little Saigon(a neighborhood in LA).  Before I arrived, I was both nervous and scared, but after I got to know them, we got along well. Although my girlfriend's parents only speak Vietnamese, I was still able to have a good time with them. We not only went out to a bakery to have boba, but also sang karaoke at home. I think Little Saigon is very fun. I stayed at their house for a month and a half. I hope to return for winter break.

7月16日坐了地铁去圣地牙哥看我姥姥。到时候,我姥姥送了我她的家吃午饭。她做了一些好吃的德国菜。我在她家住了两个周每天我都坐公共汽车去图书馆,因为我姥姥没有电脑。我姥姥的家好是好,可是那儿一台电风扇也没有。圣地牙哥天气非常闷热。

On July sixteenth I took a train to San Diego to visit my grandmother(maternal). When I arrived, my grandmother gave me a ride to her house to have lunch; she made some delicious German food. I stayed at her house for two weeks. Becuase my grandmother does not have a computer, I caught a bus to the library everyday(I was there).