Chinese-Forums

Finding work in Lanzhou,

sleepyjazz

• New Members

Pending a discusion with my ex partner and hopefully soon to be my partner again, on where we are going to live, Lanzhou, China, as she holds all the barganing chips now, what are my options for work.

Not having a degree of course will limit the possibilities, and having spent 15 years outside of the industry i spent much of my younger years, "Banking Back and Middle office, Accounts and Administration".

While she tells me teaching is a possibility, or serving coffee, which i think will be out of the picture.

I do teach Guitar and Music, so i have some knowledge of the procedures.

Is teaching English privately possible, ?, what sort of income could i expect, considering i am not going to need that much, as i would think, i will be something of a house husband, but i need to work, the type of work isn't an issue, as long as it is legal in the Chinese sense. as long as i have an income to take her out, buy her flowers, all the important things for the woman loved

Visa isn't an issue.

Any good idea's would be welcome

Apart from the emotional issues here, which seem problematic, I feel compelled to urge you to think very carefully before deciding to live in Lanzhou. I've been fortunate enough to spend time in many Chinese cities. Lanzhou isn't somewhere I would return (to put it in polite terms).

• Like 2

• New Members

Thanks for your replies, and appreciated, all of them,

i am aware of the issues and problems that may arise, from such a life change.

However, life is about taking risks, and even the stupid ones, and challenging what is faced,

Going in blindly is the danger, which is the reason i posted here, to gather as much information as i can,

that information then gives me a barganing chip,

As there are other issues that have made it difficult for her to move here for the moment,