Chinese-Forums

Moving to Beijing in 8 months but know no Mandarin

hff

• New Members

Hey All,

I'm doing a masters program in China and will be leaving in eight months. The program is entirely in English, however it will include Mandarin classes. I'd like to begin learning Mandarin now so that I can at the very least survive in Beijing. I'm American but have studied in Argentina and speak Spanish relatively fluently, so I've run the learning a foreign language gauntlet once. That said, I'm anticipating Mandarin to be far more difficult. Between now and August I'd like to be able to do the following:

1. maintain a very basic conversation about simple topics and move beyond memorized phrases (ask for directions, ask about how the family is doing, compliment someone, etc)
  2. Learn the verb conjugations
  3. Understand the structure and rules

In order to do this, I'm planning on buying Rocket Languages mandarin and doing 1-1.5hours per day for the next 8 months and talking with Chinese speakers via iTalki when I feel I'm comfortable enough doing so. I'm not worried about reading and writing for now. Are my goals realistic and if so is this the right approach?

Thanks,

Mike

Welcome to the forum. 

I have a never heard of  Rocket Languages Mandarin but if is this the course you would like to do I am sure it will be fine but I would strongly suggest you start reading and writing as soon as you can, if you leave it till later it will almost be like having to start again.

There are two schools of thought about learning to read and write characters, some say with smart phones and computers you don't need to learn to write characters and you only nee to learn the basic of reading to enable you to read signs and simple things.