Chinese-Forums

Spanish speakers: Are there job opportunities in Shenzhen?

totosita

Hello, I'm Alexandra.

My fiance and I are currently looking into moving to Shenzhen because he was offered a job there. However, I wouldn't be able to work at the same school. So my question is: Are there a lot of jobs for expats in Shenzhen? If so, what type of jobs? Are they all located in the center of Shenzhen?

I am a qualified spanish teacher and I'm fluent in English. I have been looking for job posts online but there isn't much. I don't know if I'm looking on the right websites. Any information regarding getting a job in Shenzhen would be helpful. 

Thank you. 

I am sure there will be but

A) many jobs that come up may not be on the internet

B) jobs can come up through personal introductions

C) sometimes you just have to be patient and wait for the right time for the opportunity.

So really, you don't know until you arrive and search and network. Again, you don't state your exact qualifications, who do you want to teach (if that's what you want) and or the jobs you want if you don't want to teach. Thus, it is impossible to give anything more than general advice.

There could be opportunities for tutoring ex-pat kids in Spanish. Qualified teachers in Guangzhou can charge USD$75 - $100 an hour for tutoring. It's especially true if you are familiar with the IB or AP curriculum.

Shenzhen is quite spread out. For instance, you have Shekou International School and QSI Shenzhen are both located in Shekou, but it's not necessarily easy to get there from some other areas of the city. There are other Chinese private schools running international curriculum like Shenzhen Foreign Languages School through Dipont. Not sure that many of them would have Spanish as an offering, but it could be worth checking.

Good luck.

Eion