Chinese-Forums

Some Advice on Future Study Direction.

RichardSTJ

Hi everyone, I wanted some advice on a few things going forward with my studies and wondered what everyone's thoughts are.

So I'm 29 and I've been in China (Tianjin) a year and a half, to be honest I never expected to get so into studying Chinese but it's just kind of hooked me, and somehow I am going to master this language. I started learning seriously when I got a Chinese girlfriend about a year ago.

So I'm somewhere between HK5 and HK6 level, I've not taken the official test, but I've taken some HSK5 mock tests and found them pretty doable, that was a couple of months back so I've got better since then. I'm hoping I can hit 6 before the year is out. So I'll first talk about my general study routine and see if anyone has any good ideas of how to improve it. Then I'll talk about what I feel my biggest drawbacks are and see if anyone has any ideas for that.

Generally, wake up and before I get out of bed do about 200 flashcards I've got saved in Pleco. I pretty much save every word I learn in Pleco, along with some example sentences if they are in there.

During the day I'll listen to Chinesepod lessons or another audio source, and go over the subtitles or provided transcript to attain full understanding. I'll also do a little bookwork (developing Chinese Advanced Comprehensive Course I).

In the evening I'll finish off about another 200-300 flashcards before going to bed and maybe watch an easy to understand Chinese TV show. (世界年轻说) where foreigners speak Chinese to each other is my favorite for this.

So my biggest drawbacks.

Pronounciation: So I still don't pronounce things great. I particularly struggle with differenciating certain initial and final combos whenever I say 出去 (chuqu) my girlfriend breaks down in tears of laughter. 住 and 据 (zhu and ju) also get me quite a lot. So any ideas for great pronounciation resources.