Chinese-Forums

PhDs, China government scholarship, and the Taiwan scholarship.

thechamp

Hi!

Does anyone know about the Chinese and Taiwanese scholarships? I'm currently doing my masters at what is a top 10 university in the world (QS rankings) and looking into going into a PhD but the local (English) funding awards are very very low outside of industry PhDs. 

Does anyone have any experience of applying for computer science PhDs in Asia? Or any experience of Computing departments in China and Taiwan? The research groups seem to be doing some very interesting things in places like NTU.

;)

Try this

http://iczu.zju.edu.cn/english/redir.php?catalog_id=9036

Monthly allowance is not much. It is a full scholarship, but you won't be paid that well. You can work on paid projects and there are opportunities for entrepreneurship.

The most important thing is the people you are going to work with, better find a good team first, then consider whether or not there is funding available.

What areas of computer science are you interested in?

I'm interested in a lot of different things to be honest. My thesis this year is an Internet of Things project that relates to energy saving. Building a sensor network that takes temperatures at 1 minute intervals and saves them in the cloud for later analysis. If I end up working at the engineering consultancy where I am doing this project, then I will be doing some machine learning related algorithmics. I basically know nothing about ML but have been following Mahout for a year, but I've not made any commits. 

In Taiwan especially there are some quite generous funding arrangements it seems. Are you in tech in China/Taiwan?

I am not exactly in tech, I am interested in a lot of different things too, humanism included.