Chinese-Forums

Private school: Xiamen or Kunming?

aless

Hello,

This is my first post here. I've searched the forum and I've found some useful information, but I thought I'd post to see if I can get some first hand experience and more up to date advice.

So I started learning chinese (self-study) almost two months ago, and I'm about to go to China for a couple of months to take some classes at a private language school. I'm well past university age and I'd rather have the flexibility of a private school.

My budget is pretty low. I I've been to China a few times before, latest last year, backpacking all the way to Xingjiang and on to Kyrgyzstan, so I can pretty much adapt to any condition that can save some money.

I'd like to hear some first hand experience of people gaving studied in group classes (not one to one) either in Kumming or Xiamen.

My idea was to study in Xiamen (I'm flying to HK where I'm going to apply for a tourist visa), but I could find only one language school there, MandarinFun, which I already contacted. There are positive reviews in this forum, all quite old. My concern is that if they can't make a group or I don't like the school I'd have pretty much no alternatives.

About Kunming I saw many posts, there are many schools and it seems a more lively place to study, I'm not after partying, done that quite a few years ago, but I feel maybe I'd have more options there. I've been to Kunming twice, but as a traveller, not as a student.

As for the expenses I think the two cities might be comparable, but I've never been to Xiamen so I don't know. As for accommodation, as I'm only staying a couple of months, I guess my only option is haggling over a weekly or monthly rate at some guesthouse.

So what are your experiences in any of these two cities?

Thanks,

Alessandro