Chinese-Forums

Transferring money out of China

Anou

I've been working in China for a few years, and am planning on going back home. Does anyone have any experiences with transferring money overseas? I would like to know what I'd need to do and what documentation I'd need to provide to the bank. Any tips would be great too! 

Thanks.

I don't have any special tips but my boyfriend brought bank drafts with him when he came over. The fees he paid were less than they would have been for a wire transfer, but obviously it's less convenient. What currency are you hoping to exchange into?

If you were legally employed and paid income taxes, you can present your work permit, a copy of your employment agreement and record from the tax bureau for payment of income taxes to your local Bank of China branch to wire the money overseas.

If you have an ICBC account, you can just go to the head-branch of your city and locate the international transfers department.

You will have to provide them with payslips that equal to the total amount of your transfer. Say for example you want to transfer 元25,000 yet your salary is 元5k a month. Then you will need to take in 5 X payslips.

You will also need to provide a tax notice from your employer, which is likely to be on your payslips anyway.

Also, you will have to take in your home-country's bank's switch-codes in order for the transfer to happen, along with your passport and a copy of your employment contract.

There is a set transfer-fee of 元200.

In my experience, it took only a few hours for the transfer to show in my account.

I'm not sure, but I think this transfer system also works in BoC.

I'm not sure, but I think this transfer system also works in BoC.

Yes, BOC also does international wire transfers. Need to go to one of the major branches. Smaller neighborhood branches won't be able to help.

Term for it is 电汇。As in 我要办个国际电汇。

• Like 2