Chinese-Forums

Help me choose: Fudan, SISU, Beida or NTU?

Bambuszne

I am currently doing a master degree in international economy and business in my country. I have a chance to spend one semester as an exchange student in either Fudan, Shanghai International Studies University, Peking University or National Taiwan University.

I have a HSK 5 exam, studied in mainland China - Chengdu - for 3 sesters, but my chinese still has a room for development. So I would like to take this opportunity to go back and improve my chinese. I can take classes of my major taught in chinese or english and chinese language classes too.

Before i was really determined to go to Fudan, as this is also a first-tier university, with a well-known business program. But I am starting to have doubts now, after having read almost only negative critics about the language program and their bad attitude towards international students.

I heard that in terms of chinese language classes NTU is would be the best choice, but I do not know a lot about their courses of economy and business and genarally about Taiwan, and I am affraid off the traditional writing system.

I know that Peking University is one of the best universities in China, it has a very good reputation. I do not know a lot about its Chineese language program - I am really affraid that there are too many people in one class, with a master student as a teacher. My bigger concern is air and living quality in Beijing.

I do not know a lot about SISU.

What do you think,

1. How could i get the most out of this semester in China?I should take more language courses or classes of my major (I definitely have to take a few classes of my major). I am not sure that my chinese level is suitable to take only chinese-taught classes of my major.

2. What do you know about the ... of this 4 universities?

2.1.1. Chinese language program

2.1.2. English-taught economy/business/trade, etc. classes