Chinese-Forums

Learning Mandarin - 6 months in need advice on approach

cliveface96

Hi guys,

This is a repost of mine from Reddit.

I have been learning Mandarin for the past 6 months using Chinesepod as my main source. I usually finish a lesson, do the activities and then learn the whole sentences on Anki as well as the individual vocab. I don't really think learning whole sentences is that helpful. I also use Skritter and Memrised, and spend about an hour and a half each day split between these 2 resources/

This approach seems to suck. I had my first lesson on Italki the other day and there were 2 issues: (a) I couldn't think of what to say, and (b) my teacher could not understand me when I did manage to blurt out some Mandarin.

Can anyone offer advice on how to improve my approach to learning, given that I have ~3 hours each day (I'm a bit limited beyond this as I have full time uni workload).

Thanks.

Was that your first attempt at speaking? Or at least your first classroom attempt? Assuming so - it's not that surprising. You REALLY only get better at speaking by speaking, and six months is a long time to leave it. Don't beat yourself up about it, but treat it as a new stage. Don't be discouraged if you have to go back to basic 你好s and pronunciation work - in fact I'd strongly recommend it. 

• Like 1

Roddy's right. If you haven't really had any speaking practice with a native speaker then don't worry about it. Have you tried shadowing/recording yourself before? Listen to a recording then repeat yourself saying that sentence or word. Compare the two recordings.

If you haven't done tone drill before, I'd strongly recommend spending 30 minutes a lesson (or half your lesson) on that in the very beginning. It's boring and frustrating but pays dividends in the long run. My spoken Chinese is fairly decent and I'd credit that with having had a tutor who forced me to do tone drills all the time when I started.

Not at all surprised at your results.