Chinese-Forums

Translating the criminal caution into Chinese

LarryH

• New Members

Hi all, I'm looking for some assistance with something that is a bit beyond my skill level. My background is that I lived in China for just over four years and I work in UK law enforcement. I managed to attain HSK Level 4 before I returned to the UK I am trying to maintain my Chinese skills levels by doing some (mainly Chinese to English) translating of legal articles etc. One of the things I am currently having a stab at is translating the UK criminal caution into Chinese... and it is proving harder than I anticipated. This is basically the form of words that you say to people when they are arrested or interviewed for a suspected criminal offence. Obviously it's not just an issue of getting the words and grammar right, it is also important that I retain the meaning of the key legal information. Strangely, I can't find anything already in existence, although I'm aware that there are formal translations into French, German, Spanish etc.

The English version is: "You do not have to say anything, but it may harm your defence if you do not mention when questioned something which you later rely on in court. Anything you do say may be given in evidence."

My initial attempt at translation is: 你不只得说话。不过你不把问题回答,以后当庭依靠解答,可损害抗辩。你什么也说得,针对你可见证。

见笑!

Any feedback, however blunt, would be much appreciated!

The American equivalent is the Miranda warning. Compare various ways it's been translated by searching something like "Miranda 你“ on Google.

Is this customarily spoken to the suspect or printed on a card he's given to read? If spoken, you might want to use slightly less formal syntax.

• Like 1

• New Members