Chinese-Forums

Double verb & double 了: 我学英语学了4年了

rudyzuck

Hi all,

I have some difficulties to understand the grammar of this sentence:

我学英语学了4年了

We can see than the verb 学 is replicated (probably to add the mystical 了) but i am not sure where is the need of the double 了 ad what is the difference with the below sentence

我学英语四年了

is this a specific pattern?

Many thanks,
R

It's normal to repeat certain words and grammatical particles in Chinese to produce different nuances, or simply as filler, like "like" in English. The first one is like "regarding the study of English, I have been studying for four years."

The second is simply more concise and direct. Both are correct. 

我学英语四年了 means you studied for 4 years in the past but are not currently studying”

I don't think so. Because you can say "我學英文四年了,還沒搞清楚這語法“ (I've studied English four years, still not clear on the grammar). The sentences are functionally the same. 

This is actually a good example of why Chinese grammar can be so confusing despite the common notion that it is freeform and easier than that of, say, Japanese. 我學了四年英文了/我學英文四年了/我學英文學了四年了/我學英文四年了 are all fine, but 我學了英文四年了 is not. Why? I don't know either.  

When the verb has an object, the duration is normally placed between the verb and the object, i.e. 我学了四年的英语, not after the verb+object phrase. When we repeat the verb as in 我学英语学了四年, I think the emphasis is more on the time duration. As for double 了, Yip Po-Ching and Don Rimmington in Intermediate Chinese say that by using double 了, the speaker is adding a personal gloss (of impatience, complaint, warning, etc.) to the statement. Compare: 我学英语学了四年 and 我学英语学了四年了 (and I still can't understand such a simple dialogue!).

• Like 1