Chinese-Forums

Making the most of 1 on 1 classes.

zander1

Heya, as the title of the topic says I am looking for some advice about how to make the most of 1 on 1 classes – i.e. what is the best use of my time. I’ve read around in the forums as much as I can (posts from Imron and Realmayo among others have been very useful) but I am still not entirely sure about what people think is the best course of action.

Some background: My Chinese is at a firmly intermediate level (in speaking and listening, which is what I am asking about here) and I’ve been studying for the last 4 years on and off although with a big almost 2 year break in the middle. I’m currently living in China and will be until around July next year. My Chinese has improved dramatically in the last 7 weeks or so, so I do wonder if I should just stick with what I am doing at the moment, but I do think my time could be used more efficiently and proactively

How I am currently studying: I have 4 hours of 1 on 1 class from Monday-Friday each week, in these classes I will talk casually with my teachers usually on a random topic. If I encounter a word I don’t understand or didn’t know how to say and it seems useful I will make a flashcard of the word and get my teachers to record a sentence of two demonstrating how to use the word on Anki. At this rate I am currently adding about 15 or so new words each day, which seems to be a reasonable rate as I am maintaining a solid 90% retention rate on Anki. I am also getting a lot of listening and speaking practice, as apart from making the flashcards we pretty much talk the entire class.

Recently, I have also noticed I have pronunciation problems particularly with tones and have set aside around 45 minutes of each day to try and drill tones in sentences. This is also one of the main reasons I want to change as various Chinese people have told me my tones are rubbish (hey, I guess it's better than being cheered for saying Ni hao right?!).