Chinese-Forums

Will a total beginner be OK in a lang. program at a Chinese university?

kasandrea

Hi Everyone,

I would like to take Mandarin Chinese lessons at a university in China, but I have no prior knowledge of Chinese. Technically, I am able to move to China at any time, but I want to make sure I am prepared enough and know what I'm getting myself into! How much formal study and/or self-study should I have before I take that step?

I'm sure a lot of it depends on the individual person, but I read an article recently which advised people to master the introductory level in their home country before going abroad. I just barely moved to a new town that has a couple universities nearby offering Chinese courses. However, I am not currently a student and the semester has already started, so if I want to take a formal course I would need to wait several months.

I looked at Yunnan Normal University's website the other day and was thinking that I'd like to sign up for beginning courses there. I'm considering doing one-on-one classes which could start any time, if I remember correctly. (Would that be too overwhelming?). If I take group classes, then I would be starting March 1st. Would it be a crazy idea to just do some self-study along with hiring univ. students as tutors and then go to China? Do you think it's necessary to take a formal class here (in the U.S.) too?

I'd love to hear your experiences. If you started lessons in China as a complete beginner, what was it like? How difficult was it to adjust?

Thanks in advance for your responses! I was excited to find this forum -- it's already been very helpful.

-- Kasandrea