Chinese-Forums

withdrawing cash from UK acc in Beijing? + where is Bank of China in Wu Dao Kou?

chasingOblivion

Hi all,

I'm studying at BLCU for a while and am having some trouble withdrawing cash at ATMs here. The cards I'm using are a Barclays debit card (Visa) and a Nationwide cash card (Cirrus). So far I've tried the ATM right next to the South gate at BLCU as well as the one next to the conference centre, the one outside the postoffice next door to BLCU (inbetween BLCU and the "chao shi fa xue" supermarket), and one about 5 minutes walk north on Xue Yuan Lu (the agricultural bank of China or something; name is in green).

Each time I try to withdraw cash I just get a "transaction failed" message. From some searching on the internet I heard it could be because Chinese ATMs use 6 digit pins, and in the UK we use 4 digit ones; the poster in that case (could even have been on these forums) just added two zeroes to the end of his 4 digit pin and it worked, but didn't work for me. Does anyone have any suggestions as to why this keeps failing?

I heard elsewhere that Bank of China ATMs should work with foreign accounts, so could someone tell me where the nearest Bank of China is to BLCU? I heard there was one at Wu Dao Kou, I've been through there a few times but I can't remember seeing one, just remember there's a CITIC or something at the next junction west after the Wu Do Kou station.

Many thanks all for your help! And hope you're having fun studying Chinese :)

I have a Nationwide card and i have only ever used it successfully at Bank of China and Citibank ATMs. I have heard you can also use them at China Construction bank ATMs.

Occasionally my card doesn't work and the transaction will be rejected. This seems to happen irrespective of what type of ATM i use, what time of day it is etc. It just happens sometimes. But then the next day it will all be working fine again. Someone suggested this is because the ATMs have run out of notes, but i'm not so sure.