Chinese-Forums

Sharing SuperMemo Databases?

Jonny Wang

I haven't been able to find reference on this forum to supermemo (Palm version) databases that people are willing to share with other Chinese learners. Are there databases out there that people are willing to share?

As I'm using/have used the Chinese Made Easier curiculum (sp?) I'd be especially interested in a database with vocab from that. Speaking Chinese About China (话说中国) would be nice too.

Is it even possible to share databases? I'm still learning some of the details of the software. I hope to be able to share databases in the future as the ones I'm making get large/complete enough to be useful.

Supermemo Palm does not have a built-in function to export databases that you have made on your PDA; but you can use a program like FileZ to copy the database files onto and off of any Palm PDA. The files are saved on the internal memory as "sm_[database name]", and you just have to reset the learning process when you put a new one on.

• 2 months later...

[This is really in response to this thread, but it fits this topic better, so I posted it here.]

Supermemo - yeah. As a friend of mine said, it's definitely a lifestyle choice. These days, I do about 600 repetitions / day, which, if I work straight through, takes about 3 hours. Sometimes it just seems unbelievably burdensome, but I can definitely see the benefits, and I can't imagine how I could ever learn these characters without it. Before Supermemo, my study of the characters was all haphazard, and I just knew that I was forgetting them as fast as I was learning new ones. Now, it's arduous, but consistently uphill.