Chinese-Forums

Requesting some handwriting samples

shikang

I just started learning Chinese roughly eight weeks ago. I'm taking a class and I really love it. Unfortunately most of the students aren't as motivated as me and the pace is drudging along. I am planning to study in China soon and am doing as much as I can to try to learn on my own without learning improperly. I'm doing a lot of practice writing; we have to memorise dialogues, and I'm also memorising how to write each one. We're learning the first 100 or so characters in traditional, but I don't care if you provide simplified.

All the character practice we have done in class is on those huge grid things; our character tests have been on them as well. When I am practicing on notebook paper I am unsure of how spacing and size should be working out (I'm usually just doing horizontal but have messed around with vertical as well). I have had little luck finding scans of normal peoples' hand writing, so if anyone has some scans on hand or would like to make some to give me an idea what it should look like I'd appreciate it! If you want something to write I'll give you part of our second dialogue:

A: 那個人是誰, 他是不是一個大學生?

B: 不是, 他是我們的老師, 也是我們的老朋友

A: 老師是我們的朋友嗎?

B: 是的

A: 這張桌子是你的不是?

B: 不是, 這張桌子是他的, 這把椅子也是他的

A: 哪張桌子是你的呢?

B: 那張桌子是我的, 那把椅子也是我的, 那張桌子 跟那把椅子都是我的

@imron

I don't think the OP was talking about cursive.

@shikang

I'd advise against worrying about cursive at least until you know stroke order without being told explicitly. Search on the web for character practice sheets. I think there is one at Yale in with the David and Helen material. I'd stick with filling boxes to train your sense of proportions, I still do.

Since you are doing trad. check out "Lady in the Painting" which has text hand written -- not cursive -- and uses "the first" 300 characters. try yale univ. press online. (I'm on my palm so cutting and pasting a link is a pain)