Chinese-Forums

A mid-sentence 這, ambiguous subject/topic

Jinxx

Anyone care to help parse this second sentence? The part in red i don't understand.

'In order to establish a nation together they had to ... ' and that's where i get lost until 'maintain equality in the workplace.'

‘同志’顯示了五, 六十年代中國大陸傳統的尊卑觀念的否定. 因為大家都是為了建設國家這一共同的志向走倒一起來的, 在工作面前一律平等.

Is the red part: 'This communal will directed at raising up (a nation)' ?

I've seen 這 floating around in the middle of other sentences before and not understood it. Please comment if you know of any explanatory pattern. Or if you could give some examples of similar usage, since i can't figure out what part of speech the clause after 這 becomes in this case, if it's not the subject.

in the sentence you posted "這"means"建設國家" so in other words,"這"always refers to the word or something in front of it( I'm not good at English so my explaination may be puzzling)

for example “王明這家伙” "這" means王明 or 交通拥挤這一原因,"這" means交通拥挤, could you understand?

Very good, thank you.

Now, how do the 向 and 的 function together here?

Does 這一共同的志走倒一起來 mean (literally) 'this common will directed at proceeding together'

So that the 的 modifies the 志; but then is 向 here acting as a verb along with 走倒?

Very literal: "this communal will (which) aims to arrive (as a) together (kind of will)"

I know that's impossibly awkward but i'd like to figure out what the 的 is doing and whether 一起來的 modifies 志 like an adjective or, as the 一起 would suggest, an adverb. If it's the latter i don't know why a 的 is necessary. :help

how do the 向 and 的 function together here?

As smalldog said, '志向 is a noun meaning ideal'. It's absolutely correct.

As for 的, it's a component of the sentence pattern 'subject + 是 + ... 的'. For your sentence 因為大家都是為了建設國家這一共同的志向走一起來的, its pattern is 'subject + 是 + clause sentence + 的'. (Not 倒, but 到.)

Other patterns include

subject + 是 + noun + 的

e,g,

这本书是谁的?

这房子是木头的。

subject + 是 + verb + 的

e.g.

我是教书的。

那个人是送信的。